New Year, New…Me?

I realised since I started this blog I’ve never really talked about myself all that much – other than what projects I’m doing/the crafts I enjoy.

So, in lieu of that, I decided I’d write an introduction – a little longer than my about me page, just so that you can get to know a little bit more about the person behind the blog! 

So, as you’ve probably guessed by now, my name is Heather. There’s a great story behind my name. Mum wanted to call me Ruth. My father was unimpressed, and said no, he didn’t want me to be called Ruth. So my mother told him he could choose a name – but it couldn’t be the name of any student she had taught. My mother was a science teacher at an all female high school, and she wanted a name that she didn’t already associate with a toe-rag teenager. So dad had a rather slim pot to choose from name wise! Since his family’s history is Scottish, he went with Heather, a light pink to purple Scottish highland flower. The thing I think is cute? Mum’s a botanist.

Little heather

Yep, that’s little Heather. I’m adorable. That was June 1992, so I had turned two about 2 months before that pic. I’m hella cute. Seriously. And you can’t tell from that pic cause of the hat, but I was also blonde.

I’ve lived in Christchurch, New Zealand my entire life. That’s the view from my parent’s house in my blog header (well, one of the views!)

My partner James and I met through a friend in January 2009. He’s essentially the most awesome person ever. He lets me drag crafting supplies all over the house, and doesn’t mind when I drag him all over the city to get more craft supplies.

We moved into our first apartment in August 2009, and in January 2010 we got our fuzzy-baby, Vergil.

Baby Vergil!

He’s gotten rather…big now, huh! We love him to bits. We’re now in our third flat – first two were earthquake damaged, and we rather like the one we’re in.

I graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English last year, and now work as a medical secretary. It’s a demanding job, but it pays the bills, so for the moment it works for me.

Whelp, that’s pretty much the most of it – if you’ve ever got questions feel free to ask!

Leave a Reply

