Me-Made-May’17

So shall we start with the usual ‘I forgot to blog for a while’ post with a barrel of excuses, or shall we just head right on in to the MMMay17 fun?

MMMay17 it is!

Here is my pledge from the ‘official’ sign up thread:

I, Heather, of dancinginmypjs.wordpress.com and @dancing_in_my_pjs (IG) sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’17. I endeavour to wear as many me-made items as I can for the duration of May 2017. I also pledge to re-start my sewing habit (knitting and crochet has taken over my life!) and sew four garments in May 2017.

I haven’t sewn anything clothing related for an extended period of time, bar a cardigan which will remain nameless for some time as it didn’t fit well and I am mad at it, and am holding off having to try and re-work it or have to brand it a failure. Knitting and crochet has become a more favoured hobby as I can take it around the house with me, it takes so much less space when I am actually doing it, and the tools take up less storage space. I also find it is generally less-expensive, as if I am really in the mood for a new project, with non-stash supplies, I can choose a small project like a hat or cowl or mitts, and only need to spend like $10 at most, where as to sew anything substantial (I don’t like sewing accessories) I would need to spend a lot more, even on cheap fabric – which is something I am trying to move away from.
Me-Made-May’17 is hopefully going to give me the opportunity to not only sew some things up in the next couple of days (already planned as I am on holiday until Wednesday), but also to plan and sew some items during May, so that by the end of it I will hopefully have a few more items in my wardrobe that I can start to wear!

With any luck this won’t be a ‘Heather posts once and then drops of the face of the earth again’ endevours with my blog, and I full intent to make myself some stickers for marking out when I need to write posts/schedule posts and when they will go live. We will see how that goes.

x Heather

Leave a Reply

