“I did the only thing I could in the circumstance…I stabbed him in the shoulder!” Challenge Four – Indie Royalty

Hello again, fine people of the internet!

My Indie Royalty look is a lazy homage to my favourite lady detective, Ms Phryne Fisher. She wears a lot of fantastic oversize coats throughout the series, and that was the beginning of my outfit. Then a top, and pants to go – because how is a lady detective expected to chase down dastardly criminals wearing a dress?!

36089376732_35a46e11fe_c

I started with a beautiful Marc Jacobs wool blend heavy jersey which I picked up at The Fabric Store for a song. I adore it, it is heavy and warm, and I have named my creation ‘the coatigan’ as it is not quite a coat and not quite a cardigan.

I used the Colette Seamwork Oslo pattern, and cut the largest size. Fair warning – this pattern seems to have been designed for someone with extremely long arms – with the cuffs at full extension (not folded) I have a good foot of fabric hanging over the end of each hand! But it is comfortable and warm, and perfect for how freezing cold it has been lately!

36215279356_b697749920_c

It was also my first foray into self-cover buttons, and I am so glad I went with that – they look incredible if I do say so myself!

35423830034_4153d6b79b_c

In keeping with the lady detective theme, I made the Scroop Ngaio blouse. As Dame Ngaio is a local lady, it seemed fitting for me to make something for her when making a lady detective outfit. I chose a very light rayon crepe, which was about as easy to work with as it would be to sculpt water. But I love it, and I think it was worth the work. I did a 1.5 inch bicep adjustment on the sleeves, and next time will probably do a wide hip adjustment. I cut a F+ bust in size 50, and the hips are just a tad slim for my tummy. But still very wearable! And a quick sew – I put together the paper pattern, cut my pieces, overlocked all the pieces, and put the top together in just under 4 hours total – pretty impressive for me! I did omit the piece of fabric meant to cover the gathering – I really liked how it looked without it, might give it a go next time!

35862766870_f69ed4dc8f_c

The instructions were fabulous and easy to follow, and I liked the option of the detailed or the basic options, so I could breeze over bits I knew how to do, like the sleeves, but look at more detailed explanations for things I wasn’t sure of, such as attaching the upper and lower bodice pieces.

The last piece in my outfit is probably my favourite – my gorgeous Designer Stitch Alyse pants.

36215094426_7f644076d5_c

For starters, they make my ass look amazing. Secondly, the style is really cute on. Thirdly, I sewed these straight from pattern with no alterations and they fit perfectly.
I’ll say it again for the people in the back – I SEWED THESE PANTS STRAIGHT FROM PATTERN AND THEY FIT ME!! I was astounded, and very pleased. I sewed them from a bengaline, which did have a good spandex content, and I cut a straight size 10, and the only thing I needed to do was take an inch off the hem because I’m only 5’5”.

36256855735_0bd295934f_c

I love everything about these pants. They are comfortable, fit well, and look amazing. I put the zip on the right hip instead of the left, as I find that more comfortable. I also will NOT follow the instructions next time for zip insertion. I didn’t like the way the instructions said, but thought ‘nope, follow the instructions’ and then wished I hadn’t. I just don’t think it’s the tidiest zip insertion method. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will definitely be going with my normal method.

And so that’s my Indie Royalty outfit! I had an amazing time, and many thanks to the kind sponsors of this year’s Indie Pattern Month, and to our amazing admins – it wouldn’t have happened without you!

And now, I will stand here and wait for my handsome detective to catch up.

36122621031_edb2e27db2_c

Leave a Reply

